New powers devolved to cities

The Government has committed to devolve new powers to England’s largest cities in a series of unique agreements to assist growth, create jobs, support local businesses and improve critical infrastructure.


Deputy Prime Minister Nick Clegg and Cities Minister Greg Clark announced that new arrangements including increased cooperation on strategic planning will involve Birmingham, Bristol, Leeds, Liverpool, Newcastle, Nottingham, Sheffield and Manchester.



Following Greater Manchester’s example, Leeds and Sheffield will each form Combined Authorities, bringing their existing local authorities together so they can make more strategic decisions about how money is spent and what it is spent on.



Liverpool and Bristol have voted to have directly elected mayors supported by strong decision-making structures across the wider economic area. Leeds will form a West Yorkshire Combined Authority and Sheffield will form the South Yorkshire Combined Authority.



Newcastle is working with the seven authorities across their economic area to take steps towards forming a North East Combined Authority; Greater Birmingham and Solihull has established strong private sector leadership and decision-making across its Local Enterprise Partnership. Nottingham has created a new private sector-led governance structure to deliver their City Deal.